Disney’s The Never Girls: A Dandelion Wish Review (Random House)

What It Is

Disney's The Never Girls is an early chapter book series about four real girls and their encounters with Tinkerbell and her friends from Never Land. In this third book in the series, Mia's father fixes a loose board in the family's backyard fence that serves as the gateway to Never Land. Unfortunately, the fix happens while a garden fairy is visiting Mia in the human world, and she becomes trapped there. To make matters worse, Mia's little sister snuck off to Never Land and in turn became trapped there. Mia enlists her friends to figure out how to restore their gateway to Never Land and return everyone to their proper homes.

Is It Fun?

This is a fun story with plenty of suspense that will engage young female readers. The text is perfect for beginning readers, and the story has the right amount of just complexity for kids ready for their first chapter book series.

Who It’s For

The series is ideally suited for ages six and seven. However, once a child's independent reading level advances, they will crave more depth and move on quickly.

What To Be Aware Of

There are four books in the series with more on the way throughout 2014. All should be easy to find in your local library.

  • Quality

  • Read-it-Again Score

  • Fun-and-Learning

  • Disney’s The Never Girls: A Dandelion Wish published by Random House
  • Written by: Kiki Thorpe
  • Illustrated by: Jana Christy
  • We recommend this book for kids ages 6 and up