Regular Show: Mordecai & Rigby in 8-Bit Land Review (D3 Publisher)

What It Is

Regular Show: Mordecai & Rigby in 8-Bit Land from D3Publisher is the first official video game for Regular Show, the animated series on Cartoon Network. The series is about a blue jay, named Mordecai and his friend, Rigby, a raccoon. The two work as groundskeepers at a park where their boss is a gumball machine and their co-workers include a yeti, a ghost and a man with a lollipop for a head.

The game recreates the world of the series as a side-scrolling platform game. Players will travel through 16 levels as the series' two main characters, Mordecai & Rigby. You have to frequently switch between the two characters because they each have their own specific skill. Mordecai can double jump and Rigby can crawl through small openings and tight spaces. The main objective of each level is to reach the finish line, however, there are also items in plain sight and hidden throughout each level for players to collect.

Is It Fun?

The show is wacky and very funny, and the game does a great job of recreating the fun and humor of the show. The game is also challenging and stands alone from the series to give players an old-school-looking, side-scrolling platform game.

Between each level, there is a mini game that uses the items collected during the level to play. This gives players a rewarding reason to try to gather all of the objects in the level.

Who It’s For

The game is rated E 10+ and is going to appeal mostly to fans of the show and fans of old-school video games.

What To Be Aware Of

There are 16 levels in the game and they are surprisingly difficult. Even the first Boss Battle is really hard to beat.

  • Fun

  • Repeat Play

  • Learning Curve

  • Regular Show: Mordecai & Rigby in 8-Bit Land from D3 Publisher
  • Part of the Regular Show brand
  • Rated E10+ for Everyone 10 and up
  • Available on: Nintendo 3DS
  • Available October 29, 2013