Angry Birds Transformers Review (Rovio)

Angry Birds Transformers
What It Is

The Angry Birds Transformers app game from Rovio is a level based game where you play as Transformers that have been reimagined as Angry Birds characters. Your character is dropped off at the beginning of each level and then runs through a side-scrolling environment. While running, you try to blast as many pigs as you can while avoiding falling obstacles. Similar to classic Angry Birds games, you can try to knock the pigs off their perches by attacking the structures or you can just blast the pigs directly with the characters weapon. You are rewarded with coins and pig points at the end of each level but if you get hit by an obstacle or blasted by a pig your armor will lose health. Deplete your health and you lose on that level. As you play, you will unlock new characters using your pig points. Different characters have different abilities and weapons - some are fast with weaker weapons and some are slow, but have incredibly powerful blasters.

Is It Fun?

This birds-disguised-as-robots-in-disguise game is a fun mash-up of the two popular franchises. It's a unique way to play with both Transformers and Angry Birds characters and it's nice to see a different take on the Angry Birds game-play pattern.

Who It’s For

The game is for casual game fans, ages 4 and up. Since the game-play is so different than previous Angry Birds games not all Angry Birds fans will love it however, this could open the series to new fans.

What To Be Aware Of

You unlock new areas by leveling up and spending coins. When you spend either coins or pig points there is a waiting period for the upgrade to complete. You can spend gems to speed the wait up but gems are scarce in the game and are the main in-app purchases for real money.

The game is available now for both Apple and Android devices.

  • Fun

  • Repeat Play

  • Learning Curve

  • Angry Birds Transformers from Rovio
  • Part of the Angry Birds brand
  • Rated 4+
  • Available on: Android and iOS
  • Available October 15, 2014